Luck comes in black

Walking down the road this sight caught my eye. A black cat on a red car against the background of monsoon washed fresh green leaves. How often do you see a sight like that?

The first time I tried to take the picture on my phone camera the cat leaped off the car too quickly and came to rub against my legs. I was lucky and found her sitting there again the next day.

But, people say, there goes your day, a black cat crossed your path.

Really? She crosses my path all the time and with her sister too, who is just as black. I was feeding her by the stairs the other day when a group of party goers, slightly drunk perhaps, came out of the lift and loudly complained about the array of cats.

At least they are not black, said one of them.

There is a black one, another man said, I know I have seen her, and he peered around the stairs and found her sitting there, tail neatly curled, waiting for her food.

I don’t know if that was his excuse for a ruined day. She certainly never ruins mine, even when she weaves around, meowing, crossing and re-crossing. I believe black is lucky, especially when its as cute as this.

So much for senseless superstition. If you are worried, don’t look below, because here she is – red, black and green.

luck comes in black

Luck comes in black

3 thoughts on “Luck comes in black

  1. Conditioned responses to old sayings stop us from seeing the beautiful black shing coat, the attentive intelligent stance.
    Instead of applauding the beautiful cats in our midst we ascribe bad intentions when love is offered.

    Like

  2. In Eygpt cats, esp black cats are worshiped. Here we associated black with dark and evil. I think it’s bad luck for the cat, black or otherwise, to have a human cross her path.

    Like

Leave a comment